Call of the Wild
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Poker Joe's Story: How I got here.

Go down

Poker Joe's Story: How I got here. Empty Poker Joe's Story: How I got here.

Post by Guest Mon Jul 06, 2009 8:40 am

"Get em, Joe!" My rider yelled as I bolted after a 3 week old Holstein calf. To the right, to the left, we dodged to keep the calf in place. Again, right, left, forward, back. My knees and legs never ached, for I had been doing this job for 4 years already. "Poker Joe! Get on task, boy!" Reese shouted from upon me. The calf was charging us! I leaped up and over it, then had plenty of time to lash out a hoof and trip the brown and white cow. No other horse did that like me. Reese jumped off my back and gave me a good pat. "We did good, fella. Time to brand em." He pointed to all of the calves we put into the pen. Of course, we had help. Kid on Aristo helped us, so did James on City Rhythm (We call him City) We can't forget Tony on Clay either. I pricked my ears at a chime in the wind. Time for them cowboys to eat! They all ran over to us and pulled our saddles off like a deer runnin' from a hunter. Reese forgot to pull of my Breast Collar, so I gave 'em a nip on the shoulder to remind him. He always did that. He quickly unsnapped the device and bounced off to the Dinin' Hall. I smelled the air. Roast beef, Beef Gravy, Mashed Potatoes, Corn, Salt, Pepper, Bit of Venison....Cowboys and us had it good. The Rancher's wife, Nelly, loved to cook and boy could she! Reese always snuck me some corn or potato. I ain't to fond of that meat. Horses don't eat that. I nibble on the grass, playing with my bit. Sometimes, if I got it just right, I could drop it from my mouth and graze fully.
MORE COMING SOON.

Back to top Go down

Poker Joe's Story: How I got here. Empty Re: Poker Joe's Story: How I got here.

Post by Guest Mon Jul 06, 2009 11:52 am